Return to Home Page
Environmental Website
Lake Superior Watersheds

The North Shore consists of 15 watersheds within the Lake Superior Basin.

To learn more about the scientific information on these watersheds, just click on the name and you will be brought to a page with the available documents. All documents are available in PDF format.

Knife Watershed is located near Two Harbors, Minnesota. The river is 23.8 miles long and it was put on the MPCA list of impaired streams in 1998 for excess turbidity.

Poplar Watershed is located near Lutsen, Minnesota. The watershed includes 1,317 acres of land. The river runs through property owned by Lutsen Mountains, Caribou Highlands Resort, Superior National Golf Course, Lutsen Resort, and private and federal lands. The lower section of the Poplar River was placed on the MPCA impaired waters list in 2004.

Sucker Watershed The Sucker River begins in Alden Township and ends in the community of Palmers in Duluth Township. The watershed is about 40 miles square and the river is 28 miles long.

Flute Reed Watershed The Flute Reed River enters into Lake Superior at Hovland, Minnesota, which is about 18 miles northeast of Grand Marais, MN. The watershed is about 10,485 acres and the river is 9.2 miles long.

Lester-Amity System Amity Creek is one of the least urbanized streams within the Duluth, Minnesota city limits and joins the Lester River before entering Lake Superior. The Lester River enters Lake Superior at about 61st Avenue East in Duluth.

Miller Creek Watershed runs through Hermantown and Duluth in Minnesota. There are approximately 1,040 acres within the watershed.

Cascade River empties into Lake Superior at the Cascade River State Park, which is between Lutsen and Grand Marais on the North Shore. There are approximately 42,697 acres within the watershed.

No existing scientific watershed data is available for the following North Shore Watersheds:

Brule Watershed
Caribou Watershed
Beaver Watershed
East Split Rock Watershed
Split Rock Watershed
Gooseberry Watershed
French Watershed
Talmadge Watershed


Board Members
-City of Beaver Bay

Jan Sivertson
-Cook County

Wendy Gustofson
-Town of Duluth

Tracy Benson
-City of Grand Marais

Rich Sve
-Lake County

Pete Stauber
-St. Louis County

Scott Johnson
-Silver Bay
(Vice Chair)

Mike Hoops
-Town of Silver Creek
(NSMB Chair)

Robin Glaser
-City of Two Harbors

Clicking the link below the board members name will open the website to their area of representation.

Visual Representation of Surrounding Text

Contact Information
North Shore Management Board c/o ARDC
Attn: Justin Otsea
221 W 1st St.
Duluth, MN 55802
Phone: 218-529-7529


Meeting Information and Previous Meetings

Annal Reports
View the interactive 2012 North Shore Management Plan report HERE

NSMB 2016 Comprehensive Plan Update
View the Comprehensive Plan document HERE

Environmental Website

Erosion Forum

Rain Garden Assessment (2015)

Regional Priority Projects

State of the Coast Conference